Sony Fangirl

Everything about Sony gadgets and some other stuff

Using International Call Cards on Your Mobile Phone

I’ve been using international calling cards when calling my loved ones since they really are a lot cheaper compared with the international call rates of AT&T or T-Mobile. However, I’ve been using my international calling card only on landlines as I’m afraid that my wireless carrier might charge me extra.

Then I found out that you can use toll free numbers when calling using your phone cards so I gave it a go. Well, I was surprised that my calling card ran out of credits faster compared with using it on my landline. That was when I saw the fine print: Toll free surcharges apply.

So, your wireless carrier doesn’t charge you for calling toll free numbers but apparently, almost all of the prepaid calling card on the market charges certain fees when using a toll free number so you’re not getting the minutes that you paid for.

Anyways, if like me, you want to use your international calling card on your mobile phone, in order to save on minutes, you should try using the local access number that the phone card provider gave you if you’re under a wireless plan with free nationwide long distance. You’ll be getting extra minutes if you do so.

November 13, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

