Sony Fangirl

Everything about Sony gadgets and some other stuff

I Miss the Mini Disc

sony-mini-discI was cleaning out my room the other day (if you can believe it) and I found my old mini disc player together with my box of mini discs. The mini disc player has a broken LCD though I don’t know if it works anymore since I don’t have spare batteries lying around. Now I’m not the type to get sentimental about old technology since I’m all for new technology but somehow, I feel like the mini disc should be an exemption, but only for data storage. I mean, sure, we already have CDs, DVDs, portable disk drives, and memory cards to store our data to but:

  1. CDs and DVDs are prone to breakage and is hard to store, at least for me. Yes, they do have those plastic casings but since I’m a klutz I’ve already broken two important back-up CDs in the past so I actually hate using these for data storage. Plus some of the CDs I used already developed some sort of fungus. Ugh. Not great and I don’t want to stick those old CDs on my CD drive, I mean HD DVD/Blu-ray drive.
  2. Portable disk drives and memory cards have huge capacity, I think it’s now 16GB but you can’t exactly file them on your shelf. Where will you store them? In a box? Sure, some might like it but when you’re trying to find a particular file, you’ll have to sort through your box of flash drives and memory cards, and how will you label them?

Anyways, I think mini disc has a huge potential to store your files. Sony could up the storage capacity and make a mini disc drive to replace floppy drives. Mini discs are more sturdy since they’re in a plastic casing, they’re easier to store and easier to label. Maybe not a lot of people will go with me but there are some groups who’re clamoring for the return of mini disc especially over at minidisc.org. So will this technology make a comeback? All I can do is hope.

November 6, 2008 - Posted by | Other Sony Products, Sony Cyber-Shot | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks Natalie1981 for this words of hope. I still use my HD-MD that I’d buy on 2005. It’s very useful and kind sentimental everytime I go out there somewhere with my music 🙂

    Comment by Antonio De Saavedra | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. I have seriously been thinking about trying minidisc out. But I would want a new one, and you can’t buy them anymore at a reasonable price(for me, about 100 new). The cream of the crop now is the sony mz-m200, and seems to be the last model they made and still sell. But it costs 350. Thats the same price as an ipod touch 32. I’d like to try it, but common sense says it would be a waste of money.

    Comment by Xeys | December 14, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

